Daikon Radish

No, this is not a Parsnip! This is a Daikon radish. There are multiple things to do with this. Google “daikon recipe” and you will find a thousand things to do with this vegetable. It is also very healthy and a detoxifier.
I have been slicing it into salads and shredding it in with my coleslaw, cubed into brothy soups, in a beef stir-fry with soy sauce,  yummm

NAMASU

  • 1 daikon radish
  • 1 carrot
  • 1 tsp lemon peel
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 c rice vinegar
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice

Slice daikon and carrot into thin strips.

In a bowl, mix daikon and carrots. Sprinkle over 1 teaspoon salt and squeeze. Let stand 5 minutes. Rinse through a sieve under cold running water, drain and squeeze well. Cut lemon peel into thin strips and mix with daikon mixture, set aside.

Combine sugar, vinegar, lemon juice and 1/2 teaspoon salt and stir until sugar and salt are dissolved. Pour vinegar mixture over daikon mixture and let stand 1 hour.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daikon Radish

  1. Carol says:

    thanks J for giving me the name… much nicer than big white thing..

  2. Carol left this message for me:
    “Today was the first for our family. Enjoyed the total experience. Upon returning home I wanted to immediately make a salad. I really wanted to taste that very large white thing that was supposed to be a radish. Wow!! Hot!! At dinner my daughter said she didn’t eat radishes but all her salad was gone…my husband kept getting up and adding the white thing to his plate..hardly any left and as for me, I’m now a big white thing fan…too bad I don’t know the name!!!!!!!”

Leave a Reply

