Locavore: From Farmer’s Fields to Rooftop Gardens-How Canadians Are Changing The Way We Eat – Review and Giveaway

To start off our Fall and Early Winter program, I am introducing to you, Locavore: From Farmer’s Fields to Rooftop Gardens-How Canadians Are Changing The Way We Eat, by Sarah Elton, Harper Collins publishers.  Elton is a food columnist for CBC Radio’s Here and Now and has written publications for various Canadian newspapers and magazines.  This is her personal observation and insight into what it takes to eat local.

About the Book

This book makes one aware of where most of our foods are coming from and how we may contribute by our buying practices.  Most of our food comes from China, Chile, Mexico.  China produces more than half of the fruits and vegetables grown on earth, not to feed their nation, but to supply its rapidly expanding agricultural export industry.  What is happening to our Canadian farmers if we continue to support this practice?

“Locavore tells the stories of how chefs, gardeners, farmers, young people, old people, urbanites, rural foodies, gourmets and regular folk are creating a new way of growing food and putting it on the table.”  “It’s a hopeful story that doesn’t dwell on our mistakes but rather demonstrates that change is possible and that our problems are surmountable”  Elton states that “We don’t have to abandon coffee, chocolate and spices to support a new food system.  Rather, the ideal of a strong local food economy is to eat good, healthy food that is produced with the least environmental impact.”

My Thoughts

I enjoyed reading this book and the lucky person who wins it will find it highlighted in many places, the spots that I found extremely profound. I enjoyed meeting, through the author, all the people she interviewed and their personal stories, two of them whom I actually know.  I did find Elton’s mixing of organic and conventional growing techniques a bit difficult for me to agree with her completely.  I am not sure I agree with the fact that just buying local is best, but that local and “quality local” is best.  She encourages us to buy from our local Ontario mega producers from Leamington and Holland Marsh, who employ heavy burdens on the environment, and then on the other hand sings the praises of organic produce.  I really enjoyed reading her description on “Farming on the back of the Calendar”, which is how our farmer farms in the fall and winter months here in Aylmer.  He uses rudimentary handmade greenhouses called a “Hoop House”, to cover the plants in the ground and out of the elements.  These houses are covered by plastic walls with a second layer of plastic, and like a row cover, more plastic is placed right on top of the plants to keep them warm and the ground from freezing.  It is amazing how many greens like spinach can freeze, thaw and still look fresh.

Book Highlight

I totally agree with her statement “ The potato isn’t  just  a potato; it is a piece of culture and tradition.  If I don’t know who grew the potato or how it was grown, then the potato becomes just a thing, a commodity, an object to roast and eat.  But if I have a connection to how my potato is grown, then I am more likely to be aware that this potato started in the soil, that earthworms slinked by its underground home, fertilizing the earth, that the plant’s leaves collected nutrients from the sun’s energy and sent this food down to the potato that the farmer dug and then sold to me.  When I am aware of this series of events that produced my food, then I am suddenly aware of this series of events that produced my food, then I am suddenly aware of my place in the natural cycle.  I am part of a larger ecosystem instead of simply being a consumer.” Sarah Elton

Contest Details

For your chance to win this copy of Locavore: From Farmer’s Fields to Rooftop Gardens-How Canadians Are Changing The Way We Eat, by Sarah Elton, please leave a comment as to how long you have been a member of Triple Cord CSA.  Along with your comment I would love to hear your amusing story about you and your veggie box.

You can visit Sarah Elton’s blog at: #mce_temp_url#

Purchase a copy at your local Chapters or online at Amazon.com.  I wish to thank Harper Collins for so graciously donating my copy to Triple Cord CSA.

Congratulations to Carol who won this book.  I know you will find it as interesting and informative as I did.  I hope you will share it with your friends as well.  L L

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Locavore: From Farmer’s Fields to Rooftop Gardens-How Canadians Are Changing The Way We Eat – Review and Giveaway

  1. Jo-Anne says:

    I haven’t read this book, but have heard of it. Anything that is promoting or encouraging others to consider local sustainable food production is definitely going to be good read in my eyes.
    I haven’t tried my daikon radish yet….a little nervous since I am really not a big radish fan usually!

  2. Jeff Plank says:

    We’ve only just become a member of Triple Cord. Thursday was our first pick up day. I’ll be making a pumpkin pie tonight and my girlfriend made a delicious salad last night.

  3. Carol Webster says:

    Today was the first for our family. Enjoyed the total experience. Upon returning home I wanted to immediately make a salad. I really wanted to taste that very large white thing that was supposed to be a radish. Wow!! Hot!! At dinner my daughter said she didn’t eat radishes but all her salad was gone…my husband kept getting up and adding the white thing to his plate..hardly any left and as for me, I’m now a big white thing fan…too bad I don’t know the name!!!!!!!

  4. Abby Owsley says:

    Oh, sounds interesting! Especially those highlighted bits!

Leave a Reply

