Raw Energy: Raw Food Recipes for Energy Bars, Smoothies, and Other Snacks to Supercharge Your Body – Review and Giveaway

Raw Energy: Raw Food Recipes for Energy Bars, Smoothies, and Other Snacks to Supercharge Your Body, by Stephanie Tourles, Storey Publishing.  Is an amazing collection of raw food recipes.  No longer can you use the excuse that you can’t cook, this book teaches you how to un-cook!

About the Book

This colourful and well laid out book by Stephanie Tourles will satisfy the most delicate palate.  Vegans and vegetarians will marvel at the combinations, and the omnivores will love to add these recipes to their varied diet.

Raw Energy was written especially for those of you seeking healthful and dramatically different alternatives to empty-calorie snack foods such as doughnuts, muffins, white-flour bagels, vending machine junk, processed cookies, cakes, candy, crackers and chips, fast-food milkshakes, artificially flavored milk drinks, and pasteurized canned and bottled juices – not to mention so-called energy bars that frequently contain refined fruit syrups and high-fructose corn syrup.”

“It’s time to hop off that merry-go-round of poor snacking choices. The recipes in Raw Energy are chock-full of nutrients and long-term energy boosters that taste so incredibly good, you’ll wonder why you haven’t been snacking this way all along.  These raw snacks meet your body’s nutrient appetite-regulating hormones, and won’t leave you wanting more” Stephanie Tourles

My Thoughts

You will find over the next few months more and more recipes and ideas for eating raw food.  This is an area of eating that appeals to most of us who are concerned about nutrition and eating enzyme-rich, nutrient dense foods.  I love the fact that Tourles explores various methods of preparing raw foods, from juicing, blending and dehydrating.  Organic raw food is nothing new.  Our grandparents and their grandparents simply called it “food”.  This book helps us get back to eating the way we  are supposed to.  I love the idea of eating snacks, and eating two snacks per day is a great way to maintain fuel for your body.  Tourles gives us a recipe on how to make your own nut milk for every day consumption especially for those with milk allergies, and as well, suggests such snack recipes as a Chili and Sweet Trail Mix, which is a mild mix of zesty, slightly sweet flavors.  A handful of this mix provides true sustenance with staying power.  It is also excellent as a salad topping instead of croutons. Her Winter Fruit Muesli offers a melange of flavors and textures to please even the most discriminating of palates. The Sweet Potato Chili Chips are great for a party and are made without grease or guilt. Dreamy Carrot Cream Soup is so easy to prepare, and to top it all off, Mexican Dark-Chocolate Blueberry Divine Fudge is raw candy decadence at its finest!

Book Highlight

I have chosen a simple recipe this time.  One that packs a punch and is so satisfying.  I have been known to bring my juicer to work with me on occasion to enjoy a real energy boost.  This is one of those recipes.

BODY BUILDER COCKTAIL

This juice blend is a bone-strengthening, muscle-building nutritional pharmacy in a glass.  The generous chlorophyll content of parsley aids in the cellular uptake of oxygen, thus stimulating your metabolism.  This is also the ultimate “beauty beverage” in that it promotes gorgeous skin, hair and nails and relieves water retention throughout the body.

Note:  Due to parsley’s natural kidney-cleansing properties, this strongly flavored blend can be a potent diuretic; don’t consume more than 4 to 6 ounces per day.

  • 3 medium carrots
  • 1/2 cup packed parsley, including stems

Juice the carrots and parsley together.  Use carrots to help push the parsley through the juicer if necessary.

This is a very powerful juice.  Please drink slowly, mixing each sip with saliva before swallowing.  Don’t chug it down or you might become slightly light-headed.

This is a good source or calcium, iron, magnesium, sulfur, phosphorus and potassium, plus bountiful beta-carotene, vitamins B and C, and energizing natural sugars.

Note: I would add one apple to the mix, to sweeten it up a bit and add a refreshing after taste.

Contest Rules

Win your own copy of Raw Energy: Raw Food Recipes for Energy Bars, Smoothies, and Other Snacks to Supercharge Your Body, by Stephanie Tourles by leaving a comment for me below, and as well what new or innovative food ideas have you come across lately?

You can of course buy your own copy from your local book store, online,

Or visit Storey Publishing:   http://www.storey.com/book_detail.php?isbn=9781603424677&cat=Food%20&%20Drink

You can visit Stephanie Tourles at her blog: http://stephanietourles.blogspot.com/

Congratulations Samira! You are the winner of this little treasure.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Raw Energy: Raw Food Recipes for Energy Bars, Smoothies, and Other Snacks to Supercharge Your Body – Review and Giveaway

  1. Samira D. says:

    At a cancer survivor conference I attended last month I was lucky enough to have a seminar with a theraputic chef. I learned the possibilities of juicing are endless and all the combinations of how to make a tasty smoothie with all sorts of raw fruits and veggies. As a person who avoids dairy I was excited to learn that you could add coconut butter as a healthy fat to a smoothy to make it creamier. I know I could never only eat raw but the idea is very appealing. I would love to learn more ideas to eat whole foods as snacks so I would love to get my hands on this book for the recipe for sweet chili chips!

  2. Jo-Anne says:

    I meant to comment before, that as with any diet/lifestyle you need to listen to how your own body is responding to what you are doing. Eating raw isn’t any different. After my cancer surgery and having had so much of my colon removed, I do find that eating raw food is challenging on my digestion. You have to see how you can tolerate it.

  3. Terri Moeller says:

    I have gone to some raw food classes at the Lotus Centre in London, Therese puts these together. I too like the idea of some raw but I know I would find it difficult to do 100% or even 50%. I do have a couple of friends who have done this though and have had really good success. They feel great and lost some weight as well.

    Give the Lotus Centre a try if you are considering this, I think you would be impressed.
    The book sounds interesting another good source of information. Thanks Julie!

  4. Jo-Anne says:

    Yes, I imagine drinking slowly is important. I remember when we first juiced wheatgrass. The first time I slugged my glass back I thought I was going to be ill. The flavour was so strong and I was very light headed….hee hee….proceed with caution. I like the idea of eating more raw components in my day, but I really don’t know where to begin. I am not interested in going all raw, like some people advocate, but I think raw fasts of a day or two can be very cleansing for your body.

Leave a Reply

