Simple Rhubarb Sauce

Rhubarb in the Garden

Spring and rhubarb go hand in hand. Every year it seems rhubarb is more and more in abundance.  I enjoy freezing a bunch of it for great desserts in the fall, but mostly I love stewed rhubarb with toast for breakfast, rhubarb crisp for dessert and my favourite rhubarb custard pie.

RHUBARB SAUCE

  • 2 lbs. rhubarb chopped in pieces
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • pinch of salt

Combine all in a sauce pan and cook for 10 minutes or until soft, stirring often.  Allow to cool completely.  Serve over pound cake, ice-cream or on its own.  Sugar may be reduced for a more tart flavour.  Fresh sliced strawberries can be thrown into the cooled rhubarb for an added natural sweet taste.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Simple Rhubarb Sauce

  1. Pingback: Rhubarb Processing is Finished « Simple Is Working

  2. I am so yumming on this recipe. I love rhubarb! It’s a big treat here in Indiana. I live in an apartment, so I don’t have any, but I can usually get some from some local Amish families. Which reminds me. That picture you have as your header looks SO familiar. It’s a common sight here, as we have so many Amish farmers, to see men standing behind a team of four to do their work. So nice…

Leave a Reply

