Veggie Burgers Every Which Way: Fresh Flavorful & Healthy Vegan & Vegetarian Burgers – Review and Giveaway

Veggie Burgers Every Which Way: Fresh Flavorful & Healthy Vegan & Vegetarian Burgers, by Lukas Volger, published by The Experiment.  Has toppings, sides, buns and more. Made with real food, for real people, there are well over thirty variations to try.

About the Book

“A Veggie Burger is no mere approximation of a hamburger.  Aside from their shared circular shapes, the two have very little in common.  So why is it that veggie burgers are so often used as boring stand-ins for hamburgers?  And why do we call them “burgers” in the first place?  It seems that veggie burgers have unfairly represented, and it’s about time to champion them as their own independent category of food.”

This book brings you up to speed on how to create your own fabulous veggie burgers, with the basic knowledge of the surprisingly easy and simple ingredients involved in mastering the art of veggie burgers, for both vegans and vegetarians and of course those who like to dabble in the world of the meatless on occasion.  Mouth-watering photos adorn the book throughout, inviting the taste buds to the challenge of making and tasting each and every one of them.

“Use the freshest vegetables and ingredients you can get your hands on, whether purchased at the farmer’s market, delivered in your weekly CSA box, grown in your backyard, picked up at a produce stand along the highway, or selected from the produce aisle of your grocery store.  Your veggie burgers will only be as good as the ingredients that go into them.”

My Thoughts

This book is fabulous and I can’t wait to try my hand out at making the ultimate veggie burger for my grill this summer!  I found some amazing and unique recipes all incorporating fresh ingredients and whole grains.  You absolutely must try Baked Cauliflower Burgers, where capers and Dijon mustard highlight the mellow cauliflower’s subtle flavor, served with Gruyère cheese, or Sweet Potato Burgers with Lentils and Kale, a hearty and nutritious burger which can be made with a lot of different greens if kale is not on hand. There is also an improved version of the Garden Burger, found in the frozen aisle at the grocery store, only this one has way more veggies packed into it.  As you go to the back of the book, you will find amazing recipes for burger buns and an amazing recipe for Roasted Corn Salad. You also must serve your burgers along side some Rutabaga Fries which have become a favourite when rutabaga is in season, and if you’ve not often cooked with rutabagas, they may be a revelation!

Book Highlight

Since Veggie Burgers are something I have a keen interest in, I am featuring two recipes for you to try.

EASY BEAN BURGERS

These simple burgers can be made from almost any medium or large bean.  My favorites are chickpeas, black beans, and red beans, but I find that this recipe is also a good place to experiment with heirloom beans, such as red calypso beans or moon beans. Feel free to use a combination of beans.  And if ever called upon to cook for a crowd in a pinch, multiply this recipe by three, and use three full cans of different beans.

  • 1 1/2 cups cooked beans
  • 2 eggs beaten
  • 1/2 cup roughly chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan
  • 2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • Squeeze of fresh lemon juice
  • 3/4 cup toasted bread crumbs, plus more if needed
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a mixing bowl, mash the beans using a potato masher or fork.  Fold in the eggs, parsley, Parmesan, mustard, salt, pepper and lemon juice.  Fold in the breadcrumbs, adding more if the mixture is too loose.  Let sit for 5 to 10 minutes for the crumbs to soak up some moisture.  Adjust seasonings.  Shape into 4 patties.

In a oven-safe skillet or nonstick sauté pan, heat the oil over medium-high heat.  When hot, add the patties and cook until browned on each side, 6 to 10 minutes in total.  Transfer the pan to the oven and bake for 12 to 15 minutes, until the burgers are firm and cooked through.

PUB GRUB VEGGIE BURGERS

What’s a cookbook without at least one calorie bomb?  I’ve had veggie burgers at pubs and restaurants that taste just a little bit too good.  When I probed the waitress at one restaurant for what exactly makes it so good, what she told me – a combination of beans, cheese, chili powder – didn’t seem to completely add up.  I finally figure out the secret of the pub veggie burger: like most everything else on a pub menu, it was deep-fried.  (Do note my restraint in frying these in only an inch of oil rather than fully submerging them.)

  • 1 onion
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked black beans
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked chickpeas
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups panko crumbs
  • 1 cup grated nice-melting cheese such as pepper jack, Muenster, mozzarella or Fontina cheese
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • Peanut, canola, or vegetable oil for shallow frying.

Combine the onion, eggs, beans, chickpeas, chili powder, and salt in a food processor and pulse until combined.  Transfer to a mixing bowl and fold in the panko, cheese, and parsley.  Shape into 8 patties.

Heat 1 inch oil in a deep skillet or sauté pan over medium-high heat.  Cook the patties in batches to avoid crowding, turning once, until uniformly browned, 8 to 12 minutes total.  Transfer to a paper-towel lined plate or flattened paper bag to drain off excess oil.

Contest Rules

Veggie Burgers Every Which Way: Fresh Flavorful & Healthy Vegan & Vegetarian Burgers, by Lukas Volger, published by The Experiment can be sitting in your kitchen! By you leaving a comment and as well a brief description of what new and exciting veggies you have tried and why you liked them, you are entered in the contest.  Good Luck! And Happy Eating!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Veggie Burgers Every Which Way: Fresh Flavorful & Healthy Vegan & Vegetarian Burgers – Review and Giveaway

  1. Janet Tufts says:

    Sounds as though I missed out on a great thing with the ground cherries (was away on vacation last week – darn!) Like Jennifer-Anne I have recently discovered the beauty of kale – particularly sauteed with garlic and then mixed with balsamic vinegar, roasted red peppers and black olives. As for veggie burgers, my last attempt was a fall-apart disaster so if I don’t win the cookbook, I will definitely be heading to Chapters to buy it. Thanks!

  2. Jo-Anne says:

    Well, I must say the ground cherries were totally yummy this week. I had no idea what they were in those papery little wrappers. My boys liked them so well, they took them in their snack cups to the beach today in their lunch bags.

  3. Joanne says:

    Have you ever tried Oyster plant, also known as Salsify? I discovered it years ago in Europe and learned to prepare it as the Germans did with a mild bearnaise type sauce. It is really wonderful somewhat reminiscent of white asparagus. Not very easy to find in Canada but we did have some years ago in New Brunswick. Please let me know if you are aware of any in our area. MMMM.

  4. lindsay says:

    We didn’t eat winter squash growing up, so when I first joined a CSA I was introduced to the variety available in the squash world (besides just zucchini). My favourite squash was Delicata, which was fantastic grilled with a bit of oil and a light sprinkling of pumpkin pie seasonings. I really liked the texture of the squash and the sweet flavour.

  5. nik says:

    Patty pan squash! My aunt loves them and has been telling me to get some for a long time so I finally tried them. They are superdeliicious and so elegantly shaped! I just sauteed them but I think now I will search out more elaborate recipes for them…any suggestions? 🙂

  6. Jennifer-Anne says:

    I’ve only recently discovered my love of kale. Yup. Kale.
    Steamed, raw in a salad, baked.
    Now I’m curious what it would taste like in a veggie burger…. hmmm?

  7. Caterina says:

    A few weeks ago I picked up my vegetables as I do weekly and was greeted with kohlrabi. Stepping outside the box and learning to eat vegetables that are not the common dinner table varieties that most of us are familiar with is both interesting and fun. Simply sliced and eaten raw was the best way to appreciate Kohlrabi’s original flavour. I bet it would be fantastic on a veggie burger.

  8. Deb says:

    Not new, but delicious – Grilled portabellos with any sort of blue cheese melted on top & grilled vadalia onions makes a fab veggie burger. This cook book looks amazing !

  9. Chris Johnson says:

    Not sure if my last comment I left for the Tomatoe: A Fresh The Vine Cookbook counts, so i’m going to repeat my post here.

    I got to say, I’ve loved finding the melon in the box, they are so big, and I had no idea they could be grown in Ontario, so I was delighted to find them in our box this week and last! Also, I’m very impressed with the range of vegetables and fruits that can be grown in Ontario/be found in our CSA box – triplecord CSA has been educational for me, and i look forward to attempting to grow some of the produce i’ve recieved this year in my own garden in the future! Inspiring!

  10. THanks to my local farmer’s market, I’ve been trying every pepper I can get my hands on! Gypsy, red and orange, tiger, banana, habanero! I’m a pepper FIEND!

Leave a Reply

